Greetings from KL

Greetings from KL

Friday was same-old-same-old, except that due to AC2102 midterms, MA class was cancelled, and I had a two-hour break… Guess where I went to have brunch… CAFE BY THE QUAD (again)! This time, I tried the Samgyetang ($5), which included half a chicken. It took me an entire hour to dissect and debone it till it was naked. Hahaha. Anyway, the more interesting part of the day was visiting my grandfather at the SGH, since he was scheduled for a cornea and cataracts operation. Seeing him on the hospital bed reminds me of his age… Though he appears haughty and strong-willed, no one can escape the effects of time. So after visitation, I dropped by The Dough Shoppe for a very well-constructed mixed greens sandwich. They used a homebaked rendition of spinach and beetroot for the bread, which I thought was pretty innovative and unique. After eating, I felt completely drained due to the accumulation of sleep debt and non-stop working of my mind… So I decided to take the train back instead of a stroll (I regret this!). At night, my grandmother lovingly brought back some scones from our local bakery and leftover bread (tuna & mushroom and black pepper potato) from Mayson Bakery. I ended the day with a few final episodes of Bu Bu Jing Qing, and went to bed in anticipation of the next day.

Itinerary for Kuala Lumpur:

Set off for KL at 12.30pm, arrived in KL at 5pm.
Lunch: Assam Laksa (my family’s favourite)
Dinner: Asia Cafe (with the extended family!)

Virgin experience of a gate-crash and traditional tea ceremony (8-10.30am)
Visited Imbi Market for SisterS Crispy Popiah, Bunn Choon Egg Tarts and Ah Weng Koh Hainan Tea
Shopping @Mid-Valley (bagged a maxi, various baked goods and earl grey cranberry scones!!)
Wedding Dinner: Elite Seafood Restaurant (6.30-11pm)

Last morning in KL, set off at 11.30am, arrived in Singapore at 4pm.
Brunch: Podgy & The Banker (with Aunt See Ming and Max)

I had a fun-packed weekend! My family’s such a noisy and vibrant bunch!

Leave a Reply

